Musiconomy: What to Do when Robots have Taken Over

Here, here & here are examples of blogs which muse on the possible future, certainly in manufacturing, but perhaps of all jobs we know: robots will take over. And that leaves / will leave countless people unemployed.

I will take that transformation as given. Of course one can never be sure it will happen, but with the constant drive of economics for low-cost labor, I think it’s a safe bet. All robots need is electricity and engineers to repair them (and maybe not even that).

But what will all those humans do? Bloggers above paint a dark future of massive unemployment, which no government can remedy. My answer: nonsense. Nature abhors a vacuum and the devil finds work for idle hands.

One alternative might be: musiconomy.  In the days of Mozart there too was music everywhere, but “everyone can do it” was not an option. Composers/musicians were a relatively small circle. It was easy to copy one another and get away with it. They didn’t have our uncontrollable distribution medium.

To say in pop music “musicians are ordinary”, is getting it all wrong. The real message is that anyone can do it. I don’t play an instrument and you won’t hear me singing in public, but I do sometimes dream music. I’ll take that to mean that the talent is there.

Musiconomy stands for: legalized and transformed P2P.  Say that I hear a particular song by Prince. The song is on the network, which is owned by the government. The government is just the scorekeeper. So I download the song. Both Prince and I have accounts on the network. My account is debited, his credited. When I have the song, I can do with it whatever I want. I can copy and paste to my heart’s delight. As soon as I’m done (and it’s not enough to just change a single note), I register the new composition on the network. Voilà, my account is credited.

My proposed solution is 1) social, 2) does away with piracy, 2) does away with present overdone copyright, 4) built on a product which, in spite of present seemingly over-supply, is yet always in demand.

What do you think? I say it’s viable.

Ps. anyone with a brain can see that anti-piracy will be futile as long as agents such as RIAA et.al. are unable to make the government 1) take full control over the internet, our out-of-control medium of distribution, 2) enforce that control.

Dit bericht werd geplaatst in economie, music. Bookmark de permalink .

Geef een reactie

